Disclosure: Your support helps keep our site running! We earn referral fees for some of the products & services we recommend. Learn more

How to Watch Chennai Super Kings and More Top IPL Teams in the US on Sling TV in 2024

Last Updated:

As the IPL 2023 season crosses the halfway mark, the competition has been fierce. Some top IPL teams have impressed with their consistency and performance, while others have struggled to find their rhythm. But exactly which four teams will make it to the playoffs is still completely up in the air.

In a hurry? We’ve got some info on the top four teams on the IPL points table below, but you can watch all the batting and bowling action from India yourself on Willow TV. You can get the lowest price on Willow — just $5/mo — through Sling TV.

Halfway through the Indian Premier League regular season (Match 36 of 70 will take place later today, specifically Eastern), the Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans are all but locks for the playoffs, while the Sunrisers Hyderabad and Delhi Capitals are pretty much out of the running. But that leaves a lot of wiggle room for the mid-table teams.

Save 50% on Sling TV Now

Top IPL Teams in 2023

The Mumbai Indians (which are notably absent below) are the most successful team in the (admittedly relatively short) history of IPL, with five IPL titles. The Chennai Super Kings are hot on their heels with four championship wins, and are the only team to reach the playoffs every year they’ve been active before 2020.

The Gujarat Titans are the defending champions, having lifted the trophy in their maiden season by beating the Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets in the IPL 2022 Final.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

In their 16th season, the Chennai Super Kings are in top form. They are owned by India Cements Limited, and their home stadium is M.A. Chidambaram Stadium (or just “The Chepauk”) in Chennai.

Team Captain MS Dhoni, called one of the greatest wicket-keepers ever, is also captain of the national team. Under his captaincy, both teams have enjoyed numerous notable victories, which has given him the reputation as one of the best captains in the sport as well.

This season, their top batsman has been Devon Conway, who leads in runs scored, and Tushar Deshpande leads in wicket-taking, though some argue Ravindra Jadeja is the better bowler.

As one of two teams to already have accumulated 10 points from their first seven matches, the Super Kings are considered shoo-ins for the playoffs. It doesn’t hurt that four out of seven of their upcoming games are being played in the Lions’ Den, as their home stadium is also known.

Save 50% on Sling TV Now

Gujarat Titans (GT)

The Titans are currently second on the table, but don’t let that fool you. The Ahmedabad-based franchise is one of two expansion teams added just last year for the IPL 2022 season, and they started off by winning the whole shebang. They’re owned by CVC Capital Partners, captained by Hardik Pandya, and play their home games at Narendra Modi Stadium in Motera.

The defending champs’ best batsman this season is Shubman Gill, leading the team with 284 runs. And bowler Rashid Khan has claimed the only hat-trick so far this season, contributing to his league-leading 14 wickets.

The other team at the top of the table with 10 points, the Titans’ record is almost as good as CSK’s, with a slightly lower NRR, or net run rate (+0.580 to CSK’s +0.662). Both have five wins and two losses.

Save 50% on Sling TV Now

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

The Rajasthan Royals were one of the 8 original IPL teams, and they came from behind to win the very first IPL in 2008. While they were finalists last year, they haven’t won the tournament since that inaugural season. The franchise is co-owned by several individuals and RedBird Capital Partners, and is captained by Sanju Samson, who also holds the team record for runs at 3138. Their home stadium is Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.

Midway through the season, their best batsman is Shimron Hetmyer, while Yuzvendra Chahal, at 12 wickets, is the only RR bowler to clear double digits.

The Royals definitely have a shot at the Finals, with a NRR better than both of the two teams above them on the table.

Save 50% on Sling TV Now

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

The Lucknow Super Giants are the other just-added expansion team, and are owned by RPSG Group, former owner of Rising Pune Supergiant, a now-defunct IPL team. LSG plays their home games at Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow and is captained by KL Rahul.

The Super Giants’ best batter this season has been the Barbados-born Kyle Mayers. In this his first season with LSG, he’s run up 243 runs, including three fifties, with a strike rate (SR) of 150.93. And Mark Wood, though he’s only appeared in four out of seven fixtures played so far, has still racked up 11 wickets

While LSG is still in the game (qualifying into the playoffs if they were held tomorrow), they stand at 8 points with three other mid-table teams (RR, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and the Punjab Kings). Their NRR is significantly better than the fifth place RCB, and players like Mayers, Nicholas Pooran, and Naveen-ul-Haq could keep them in the top half of the table in the second half of the season.

Save 50% on Sling TV Now

Wrapping Up

Check out all ten of the IPL teams — including the four featured above — on Willow TV, available for just $5/mo through Sling TV!

Related Pages


What is the 2023 IPL schedule?

On weekdays, only one game is usually scheduled, almost always at Eastern. Saturdays and Sundays typically each have two games, one at and one at . 70 total games are played, with matchups being determined by a complex process involving an algorithm, plus 4 playoff games, including a final to determine the league champion.

You can find a complete schedule for the 2023 IPL season in our IPL 2023 guide.

How many teams are in the IPL total?

There are 10 total. Here are the other 6 current IPL teams in alphabetical order with their standard abbreviation and team captain:

  • Delhi Capitals (DC) (formerly the Delhi Daredevils) – David Warner
  • Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) – Nitish Rana
  • Mumbai Indians (MI) – Rohit Sharma
  • Punjab Kings (PBKS) (formerly Kings XI Punjab) – Shikhar Dhawan
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) – Faf du Plessis
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) (replaced the Deccan Chargers) – Aiden Markram.

Save 50% on Sling TV Now

Page Updates

  1. Reworked some sections.

Alanna Baker
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap