How to Watch the NFC Championship Online without Cable

Last Updated:
Disclosure: Your support helps keep our site running! We earn referral fees for some of the products & services we recommend. Learn more

On Sunday, January 30th at 6:40 pm (EST), the San Francisco 49ers will go head to head with the LA Rams for the national championship title. You can watch it on Fox. The AFC championship will be three and a half hours earlier on CBS.

In a hurry? Cord-cutters don’t need to worry about watching their local Fox and CBS affiliates. These three streaming services have you covered:

  • FuboTV: Offers over 100 live TV channels with a strong focus on sports. Try it free for 7 days!
  • Hulu + Live TV: Get their great on-demand entertainment package and 85+ live channels. Check it out with a free 7-day trial!
  • DIRECTV STREAM: No matter where you live, you’ll be covered with roughly 80 channels and many options. Comes with a 14-day money-back guarantee!

The 2021-2022 NFL playoffs are here. The seven teams that made it are Green Bay Packers (13-4), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (13-4), Los Angeles Rams (12-5), Dallas Cowboys (12-5), Arizona Cardinals (11-6), San Francisco 49ers (10-7), and Philadelphia Eagles (9-8).

Matchups for the second round of the playoffs depend largely on the seeds of the teams that win their opening-round games. The top seed coming off of its bye will play the lowest remaining seed at home. The other game will feature the next highest seed playing at home against the next lowest seed. For example, if the second, third and fourth seeds win in the first round, the number one seed would play the fourth seed while the second seed would play the third seed.

Whichever teams win their conference semifinal games will meet to determine who represents the NFC in the Super Bowl. As always, the highest remaining seed will play host to the lowest remaining seed.

Super Bowl 50
Cropped from Super Bowl 50 by Steve Jurvetson under CC BY 2.0.

NFC Championship Game Schedule

The next NFC title game is scheduled to be played on Jan. 30 at 6:40 pm (EST). The game will take place at the home stadium of the highest remaining seed in the conference. And it will be televised on Fox.

Last year, the NFC championship game aired on Fox Deportes. It will probably air there this season as well.

  • AFC Championship (Sun Jan 30th 3:05 pm): Bengals vs Chiefs (CBS)
  • NFC Championship (Sun Jan 30th 6:40 pm): 49ers vs LA Rams (Fox)
  • Super Bowl LVI (Sun Feb 13th 6:30 pm): TBD vs TBD (NBC).

Streaming Services to Watch the NFC Championship

Most of the major streaming services offer Fox so watching the NFC Championship as a cord-cutter is easy. If you also want to watch the AFC Championship game, you will need CBS. That’s a bit harder to get.


fubotv logo

For $64.99 a month, you can gain access to the base FuboTV streaming package, which comes with Fox, CBS, and NBC. It also features a broad range of 100+ live TV channels, 250 hours of cloud DVR, and the ability to stream on up to 3 devices at once.

For more information, see our FuboTV review.

Hulu + Live TV

hulu logo

Hulu + Live TV is $64.99 per month and offers live feeds of local channels such as Fox and CBS. It also comes with the Hulu on-demand library as its base. You can record its 85+ live TV channels with 50 hours of cloud DVR. And you can watch on up to two devices at once.

See our Hulu + Live TV review for more information.



The DIRECTV STREAM Entertainment package is $69.99/mo and comes with Fox, CBS, and NBC. If you are a fan of MLB, NBA, and NHL, DIRECTV STREAM offers the best selection of regional sports networks (RSNs) in the industry. But for that, you need to upgrade to the Choice plan for $84.99/mo.

Get the details in our DIRECTV STREAM review.

FuboTV offers all the channels that air NFL games.

Other Ways to Watch

There are other ways to stream the NFL playoffs. These include both general streaming services and network-specific ones. Of course, you don’t need to stream at all.


The Super Bowl, championships, and most of the other playoff games are broadcast over-the-air (OTA) and so can be seen with a simple antenna. Find out all you need to know in these articles:

Sling TV

Sling TV offers NBC and Fox with its Sling Blue plan for just $35/mo. You would still miss out on the AFC Championship. But you could make up for this by signing up for Paramount+ for $4.99/mo (see below). Or you could integrate Sling with an antenna. See our Sling TV review for details.


Vidgo offers Fox as part of its base service package. This would still leave you without the AFC Championship and the Super Bowl. To get them, you would need to add Paramount+ and Peacock. For more details, see our Vidgo review.

YouTube TV

YouTube TV provides a service that is similar to Hulu with all the network affiliates for $64.99 per month. Our YouTube TV review has more information.


Paramount+ is a streaming service that showcases football games that air on CBS. It won’t allow you to watch the NFC Championship game but it will fill holes in other streaming services’ channel lineups. For more see our Paramount+ review.


Similar to Paramount+, Peacock offers NBC content. You can use it to watch the Super Bowl this year. For more, see our Peacock review.

Streaming Devices and TVs for the NFC Championship

You can watch the NFC Championship on most streaming devices. The three main streaming services we’ve highlighted support:

  • Amazon Fire TV
  • Android mobile devices
  • Apple TV
  • Chromecast
  • iOS mobile devices
  • Roku
  • Samsung smart TVs.

Fubo and Hulu also support smart TVs by LG, Vizio, and devices based on Android TV. They also support the Xbox One gaming system. Hulu supports the PlayStation as well.

Our individual streaming reviews have complete lists of supported devices.

Wrapping Up

The NFC title game determines who represents the conference in the Super Bowl, which determines the NFL champion for a given season. This year, the NFC title game will be broadcast on Fox and take place at 6:40 pm on Jan 30th.

Fox is typically available on live TV streaming services. It may also be possible to watch the game for free with an antenna.


What team has won the most NFC championships?

The Dallas Cowboys have won eight NFC championships in franchise history, which is the most in conference history. The San Francisco 49ers have won seven NFC titles while the Washington Football Team and New York Giants have each won five NFC titles in their histories.

Which team is the defending NFC champion?

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers are the current defending NFC champion, and they are also the defending league champions as a result of beating the Kansas City Chiefs in the Super Bowl. In helping to defeat the Green Bay Packers, Tom Brady won his first NFC title to go along with nine AFC titles that he won with the New England Patriots.

How can I watch other NFL playoff games without cable?

These guides show how to watch the NFL playoffs without cable:

For more information, see How to Watch NFL Without Cable. And if you are interested in specific teams, check out these:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.